No-confidence motion not taken up Lok Sabha adjourned till Tuesday.

No confidence motion was not introduced in Lok Sabha after the continuous uproar. Speaker Sumitra Mahajan adjourned the proceedings till tomorrow. The speaker adjourned the session as TDP, YSRCP and TRS MPs came into the well of the House.The YSR Congress and the TDP have asked for a trust vote against the government over the issue of special status to Andhra Pradesh. The central government had refused to give the state the special status it was asking for, but had said it would give the monetary equivalent of special status.

The NDA had 336 seats in 2014, of which the BJP alone claimed 282 seats. However, a series defeat in byelections reduced the tally of the party in the Lok Sabha. The current strength of the Lok Sabha is 539 and the ruling BJP has 274 members, more than the majority mark of 270, and enjoys the support of several allies. With the 16-member TDP quitting the BJP-led NDA, the ruling alliance strength has reduced.

K Haribabu, Andhra Pradesh BJP chief, says, ‘ BJP has got an absolute majority in Lok Sabha and we are ready to face any situation and discussion.The Shiv Sena announced it will neither support the government nor the Opposition in the Lok Sabha when a no-confidence motion is moved against the BJP government at the Centre.

Shiv Sena MP Arvind Sawant told ANI that the party will abstain from the vote.That said, the Narendra-led Modi NDA government is at the moment in no danger of falling. It has enough MPs of its own, and enough independent MPs in the house it could approach should the need ever arise, to sail through a no-trust vote. TDP has been unhappy since the demand for special category status for Andhra Pradesh promised by the UPA government led by Manmohan Singh during the bifurcation of Telangana in 2014 was turned down by the government.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *