TDP Selected Ramesh, Kanakamedala Candidates for the Rajya Sabha Election.

The Telugu Desam Party on Sunday chose C.M. Ramesh and Kanakamedala Ravindra Kumar, advocate and TDP legal cell president, as its candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections. Although there was stiff competition from senior party leaders such as Varla Ramaiah, Beeda Masthan Rao, Kambhampati Rammohan Rao, Naidu has nominated CM Ramesh and Ravindra Kumar as the RS candidates from TDP.

TDP Andhra Pradesh President Kala Venkata Rao in a brief statement said sitting members Ramesh and Kumar, an advocate and part of the TDP legal cell, were nominated after the decision by the party head Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu.

Varla Ramaiah disappointed It may be recalled that Varla Ramaiah whose name was in the news for some time was eliminated at the last hour. Speaking to media, he said that he was disappointed with the sudden last-minute change. Ramesh and Ravindra Kumar are likely to file their nominations on March 12 for the elections scheduled on March 12.

Mr Ramaiah said the decision is hurtful but he would remain loyal. Contrary to his earlier practice of keeping caste considerations in mind, Chief Minister N. Chandrababu Naidu has chosen two OC candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *